balance

I’m picturing in my head an old brass balance with an ability to measure intangible costs and benefits.

Brass Scales Of Justice Off Balance, Symbolizing Injustice, Over White

What are these costs and benefits I’m weighing out on my imaginary scale? Let me attempt to explain:

This morning while walking to class, I had to be brisk as I was running a little late from not giving myself enough time to cook and eat breakfast and pack a lunch, as I am on campus all day on Wednesdays. Now, I could have easily been on time had my lunch just been some granola bars and easily transportable fruit, such as bananas and apples. Instead, I chose to spend 20 minutes or so chopping up vegetables and fruits and making sure I had my vitamins and minerals alongside of some protein (today, black bean dip and almonds). While walking to class, I got to thinking why I chose to do this rather than save time, and why most other people today decide to save time rather than preparing a fresh meal of whole foods. It seems to me that our society has become extremely used to the idea of food being fuel only, rather than also using it to create the beautiful meals possible through utilization of fresh ingredients. For many people of today in the U.S., getting food quickly is more important than taking the time to use fresh ingredients and working to make sure all of their nutrients are ingested through something they themselves created. For me, this is not the case. I think waking up a little earlier or taking a little more time the night before to prepare well balanced meals made with whole foods is completely worth the little extra time it costs me. So, ask yourself, is saving a little time worth omitting the best possible options for your body’s health?

Leave a Reply

