Make it What You Want: Tomato Soup

Living in my own house has given me so many opportunities to become more creative in my culinary endeavors. Although I eat out probably about five times a week, I cook quite often and really enjoy it. I don’t always have all the ingredients I need to make specific recipes, so I often just look at what I have in my pantry and mix things together that sound good to me. Today, I really needed to use up some lentils I cooked last week, so here’s what I came up with!

Ingredients:

  • 1 can Campbell’s Tomato Soup
  • approx. 1 C cooked lentils
  • garlic
  • olive oil
  • ~ 1 handful of spinach
  • 1 C diced tomatoes

Directions:

Make tomato soup according to the directions on the can. Pour in cooked lentils. Set to side. In a pan, pour a little olive oil and add crushed garlic (~ 1/4-1/2 clove, depending on personal preference). Add diced tomatoes to pan and sauté for a few minutes until almost cooked to desired softness. Add spinach to the pan and sauté until just wilted. If there is a lot of olive oil in the pan, drain out. Otherwise, add everything in the pan to the tomato soup. Heat again to desired hotness and enjoy!

As you can see, I used the soup as a base and added ingredients I already had. You can do this with anything, though! I was thinking next time I might add garbanzo beans, tomatoes, and broccoli (and maybe cheese?); or maybe even a little chili powder, some black beans, and corn! The possibilities are endless, comment with your brilliant ideas! 🙂

P.S. It’s always yummy and even more wholesome to crush up some whole grain crackers on top. 😉

Leave a comment